The Starving Bibliophile

Books before food (and any sort of comfortable life).

2013 Monthly Keyword Reading Challenge

monthlykeywordchallengeI’ve already put up my 2013 reading challenges, but this one was so cool (and complicated) that I thought that I’d give it its own post. Basically this challenge (hosted by Bookmark to Blog) is to read a book with a title that contains one of the ten monthly key words, and the key word doesn’t have to match exactly (i.e “flames” would be okay for keyword “fire” and “lion” would be okay for keyword “animal”). This makes me extremely happy. So last night I went through my bookshelves to see if I could match any of my books to any of the monthly keywords. Here below are the keywords for each month and what I’ll be reading. (If there’s more than one book, I’m definitely going to read the first one and then maybe the others.):

Let it SnowJanuary: winter, snow, silver, white, cold, shiver, smoke, fire, freeze, breath
Let it Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle

February: love, heart, sweet, family, grace, animal, diamond, life, drink, beautiful
Vampires in Love by Neil Gaiman, Kelley Armstrong, Charles de Lint, Rachel Caine, and more
The Hounds of the Morrigan by Pat O’Shea

March: luck, wish, gold, rainbow, green, mountain, valley, magic, farm, treasure
The Magicians by Lev Grossman
The Magician by Michael Scott
Jade Green by Phillis Reynolds Naylor
The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan

Hush, HushApril: secret, flower, garden, friend, light, shadow, whisper, home, gentle, little
Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick
House of Many Ways by Diana Wynne Jones

May: bird, shine, laugh, clothing, name, run, shatter, lost, wings, world
The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

June: sand, sun, beach, island, country, sea, fly, away, never, far
Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane
Escaping the Giant Wave by Peg Kehret
The Wave by Todd Strasser

July: high, control, take, candle, night, spark, dreams, soul, beat, spy
Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronté

The House On Mango StreetAugust: come, look, gift, cloud, food, clear, tree, orange, test, broken
The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros

September: shade, cry, blow, memory, kiss, space, fast, storm, blue, club
The Book of Blood and Shadow* by Robin Wasserman
Shadow and Bone* by Leigh Bardugo

October: witch, haunt, murder, death, phantom, inside, fear, weapon, trapped, ghost
The Death Instinct by Jed Rubenfeld
Thou Shalt Kill by Daniel Blake
The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster

November: brace, forever, last, right, cave, work, window, number, thief, under
The Book Thief* by Markus Zusak

Clockwork AngelDecember: princess, ring, road, midnight, fountain, time, hope, together, star, throne
Clockwork Angel* by Cassandra Clare

The reason that there are asteriks (*) beside a few of the book titles is because I didn’t have any books to fit the keywords, so I’ll be purchasing a few books to complete this challenge. You’ll also notice that there are a few “classics” on this list. I can’t really say that I’m looking forward to these. All the times that I’ve had to read the “classics” when I was in school I never was able to enjoy them just because of the simple fact that they were required reading. So hopefully it’s different this time. Also, I’ve already read The Phantom Tollbooth, but I don’t remember it at all so I figured that I’d throw it in there.

So that’s it. That’s my book challenge. Are there any book challenges that you’re participating in or want to participate in?

Leave a Reply

