The Starving Bibliophile

Books before food (and any sort of comfortable life).

2013 Reading Challenges

I love participating in reading challenges. I just like having a goal, and if meeting that goal makes me happy why not do it? So I’ve selected five reading challenges to fulfill my book cravings.

2013-reading-challengeChallenge: The 2013 Reading Challenge

Host: Goodreads

Level: 65 Books

This will be the third year that I’ve done this challenge. I always go over my goal, but a few months before the end of the year I usually start freaking out that I’m not going to reach it in time. Last year my goal was 60. How many books did I read? 92. Even though 37 of those books were manga, I still would have reached my goal with no problem. But I’m a panicker.

feministreadsChallenge: The 2013 Feminist Reads Challenge

Host: The Hiding Spot

Level: 10+ Books (Hard)

When I think of a “feminist,” I think of a strong female lead. The rules state that you can define what “feminist” means to you, so I’m all for this. Think Hunger Games. And I like female leads. They’re fun.

DACChallenge: The 2013 Debut Author Challenge

Host: Hobbitsies

Level: 12 Books

This one…makes me nervous. Reading brand new, never published before until now authors? This could be bad. This could be very, very bad. Experiences with new authors can always go both ways.

Double dog dareChallenge: The TBR Double Dog Dare

Host: Ready When You Are, C.B.

Level: 20 Books

This challenge is only from January 1st to April 1st, and during this period you can only read books from your “to-be read” pile. It includes any books you maybe bought months or even years ago and you haven’t gotten around to reading. Which for me is all the books I haven’t read yet.

monthlykeywordchallengeChallenge: Monthly Keyword Reading Challenge

Host: Bookmark to Blog

Level: 12 Books (1 Per Month)

I feel that while this one will be the most fun, it will also be the hardest and will leading to hair-ripping frustration. In this challenge, you get ten keywords a month and you have to read a book that’s title has one of the keywords or a similar word in it.

Here they are, in all their challenge glory. I’m a little scared. So how about you people? Anyone up for a good book challenge? :]

Leave a Reply

