The Starving Bibliophile

Books before food (and any sort of comfortable life).

Uncommon Criminals: YA Book Review

Summary: Katarina Bishop has worn a lot of labels in her short life life. Friend. Niece. Daughter. Thief. But for the last two months she’s simply been known as the girl who ran the crew that robbed the greatest museum in the world. That’s why Kat isn’t surprised when she’s asked to steal the infamous Cleopatra Emerald so it can be returned to its rightful owners. There are only three problems: First, the gem hasn’t been seen in public in thirty years. Second, since the fall of the Egyptian empire and the suicide of Cleopatra, no one who holds the emerald keeps it for long, and in Kat’s world, history almost always repeats itself. But it’s the third problem that makes Kat’s crew the most nervous and that is simply…the emerald is cursed. Kat might be in way over her head, but she’s not going down without a fight. After all, she has her best friend—the gorgeous Hale—and the rest of her crew with her as they chase the Cleopatra around the globe, dodging curses, realizing that the same tricks and cons her family has used for centuries are useless this time. Which means, this time, Katarina Bishop is making up her own rules.

I love Ally Carter. That’s it, plain and simple. *runs up to Carter* “TEACH ME YOUR WAYS!!!!!” *kisses feet* (and I’m a germaphobe). If only. Just like her first book in the series, Heist Society, this new read is fast paced and clever. Even though a sequel can be a dream come true, it can also be a hellish nightmare because what usually happens is the first one is amazing and the second one…not so much. Thank God that’s not the case here. I found this book to be just as amazing and witty as the first, if not better, because honestly the ending blew me away. Usually I can predict a book’s plot for the most part, but oh no, not this one. It had me going, “How…? But-I-um…Wha…? …HOW?!” And I mean that in a good way, not in a Breaking Dawn-esque “HOLY HELL WHAT IS THIS CRAP??” way. Seriously, though, I totally didn’t expect the ending even though the answer was there all along (not a spoiler). The only thing that irritated me a little was that I STILL. DON’T. KNOW. HALE’S. NAME. “Hale” is his last name. What is his first name?? But, truth be told, that severely annoying unanswered question (seriously, it completely perturbs me) is completely diminished by the fact that Carter is an amazing Young Adult writer. In other words, I don’t care. It annoys me, yes, but I don’t care. I will read a dozen more Heist Society novels and never know Hale’s name before I hate Ally Carter for not telling me. (But if she does, you know, no complaints here. Lol.) So pick up one of her adventure-filled books. Now. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 5, 2011 by in Books and tagged , , , , , , , .
