The Starving Bibliophile

Books before food (and any sort of comfortable life).

“The teenier, the better!”

Teenage girls are constantly told that they always need to find their flaws and fix them as quickly as possible. It completely angers me. Whether it be their weight, their hair, or their face, companies are always finding various ways to pull girls’ self-image down so the companies’ products can be sold. Dove recently came out with an “Ultimate Go Sleeveless” deodorant that is supposed to make our underarms “prettier.” I was honestly never aware that armpits were meant to be beautiful. I also personally never cared, but apparently there are enough women out there with hideous pits to make a deodorant for.

But what really outraged me wasn’t the deodorant or any other beauty product — it was an issue of Seventeen, a magazine for teenage girls (and sometimes girls who are younger or older). Seventeen is a big advocate for body peace, and in every issue some celebrity is endorsing their campaign. It’s a great campaign that encourages girls to love themselves for who they are and to not let bullies and the media get them down; it’s really amazing. But when I read their May 2011 issue, a little red flag in my brain went off. It was the summer/swimsuit issue, and there was an article on what swimsuits (like neon, polka-dotted, etcetera) celebrities are wearing. I’m really big on simply pretty, so I stopped at black number sported by Megan Fox. It consisted of a palm-sized triangle bikini top with shorts so tiny and “bootylicious” that it was scary. And then there was the caption.

“When it comes to a simple black suit, teenier is always better!”

Oh my god.

I was so astounded that my mouth gaped open and my eyes bulged. How could a magazine that was so devoted to body peace put something like that in an issue? It saddened me. “Teenier is better?” I thought magazines like Seventeen were supposed to encourage girls to be sexy and confident, not skanky and revealing. How many other girls had looked at this article and had become discouraged? It may seem like nothing to someone who loves their body or who isn’t very sensitive, but to some girls that had to have been a low blow. For a magazine that is so pro-“inner beauty,” they should have considered every little detail. Who knows, there could be countless other comments like this that I just happened to miss. Girls have enough pressure to have a flat tummy or the perfect legs — we don’t need the pressure to be objects for use. I just wish some girls would realize that.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 20, 2011 by in Health & Beauty and tagged , , , , , , .
