The Starving Bibliophile

Books before food (and any sort of comfortable life).

I Drive With My Nub

“Mom, mom, mom, guess what? I’m driving with no hands!”

It was the first thing I said to my mom the first time I spoke on my cell phone during the first time I drove my new, shiny red car. My mom didn’t see the humor in this, just the fact that I was being careless. I had to explain to her it was funny because I only have one arm, and since I was not using it to drive, there was no other way I could be driving my car but with my stump of an arm, literally driving with no hands.

I asked her if I should get a bumper sticker. “I Drive With My Nub.” She wasn’t amused.

My mom has never appreciated my sense of humor towards my disability, and I guess I can’t blame her. Afterall, when I was little I used to spend a good half of my time thinking of what I couldn’t do, rather than what I could do. I’m pretty sure it upset both of my parents. But truth be told, it doesn’t bother me at all anymore. In fact, most the time I don’t even notice that it’s not normal to tie my shoes with one hand or type at thirty words a minute while using my elbow to hit the space bar.

Other people notice, though. Boy! do they notice. I even feel a little bad sometimes; on some occasions I can tell that my twisted nub jokes make them uncomfortable. But most people come around to them, and soon they’re laughing just like everyone else, me included.

I like who I am. I wouldn’t change myself for the world. Well, maybe for the world — I could become a dictator. (Hitler was right… donuts ARE delicious!) But other than that, not for less than a couple million dollars. Haha. I’m not unhappy with myself; I’m just human.

It would be really interesting to see just how well others could do some of the things I do. Honestly, I’ve coped so well with my missing arm that I wouldn’t know what to do in the slightest if I had one. I remember when I had a prosthetic arm. It was so uncomfortable and bothersome. It was like a wedgie — it didn’t belong and I got rid of it as soon as possible without letting on to anyone as to what I was doing. I was a crafty youngster. Haha.

All in all, I’m very comfortable being a “one-armed adopted freak” as my friend Shay so kindly puts it. In fact, next Halloween I think I’ll be a zombie. With its arm bitten off. Dripping blood. Scaring small children. How exciting. :]

This is gonna happen. It's currently 'shopped on.

 

3 comments on “I Drive With My Nub

  1. Kerresa
    April 2, 2011

    bahahaha. I enjoy nub jokes. In fact, I believe I helped start them. I forget about it half the time. I love you Jenna! Miss you lots.

    Like

  2. mrcasualbeanie
    August 26, 2011

    omg i love this…i have alot to catch up on with your blog. not fair i’m lazy with mine so you have it easy haha

    Like

    • Jenna
      August 28, 2011

      No! I don’t have it easy because I’m always trying to keep up with my own blog! Lol.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 31, 2011 by in Family, Friends/Enemies, Life and tagged , , , , , , .
