The Starving Bibliophile

Books before food (and any sort of comfortable life).

The Simple Beauty Of Flowers

“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet.” – Romeo and Juliet

Most of us are given a lot of unalienable privileges the minute we’re born but the majority of the people who have them don’t use them. They never realize the gift they’re given until it’s too late, until that unopened gift is being thrown away. One of those glorious gifts is the gift of sight, the ability to interpret information and surroundings from the effects of visible light. There are hundreds of people who will never see a sunset or their first child or the beauty of a view, all things we seers take for granted every day of our life.

A couple of months ago I was looking up into the sky at the field of clouds, noting that there were more than I had ever seen before [These clouds were called cumulus]. It was like looking into a bag of cotton balls, the clouds feeling so close that maybe, just maybe, I could stretch my hand out until I was on my toes and pluck one from the lucid blue sky.

As I was recounting my discovery to my friend Kristina, she looked at me in utter amazement and I felt like a complete idiot when she asked me if that was really the first time I had seen that many clouds. Apparently I “needed to get out more.” Even briefly thinking about this encounter upsets me because I realize what a fool I’d been. Mother nature creates astounding things that mankind could never even dream of; I was only hurting myself by not realizing it. How could I have never seen the pure beauty in the life around me? That is why, my friends, I am putting together this collection of utter beauty in the form of flowers.

[Above] I think what makes this picture truly catch your eye is the faint mountain in the background and how the whole thing has pale pink tones.

[Right] I think this picture is a stunning view of  spring. Much like the first picture, you have your pale pinks but you also have other soft colors, brightened up by the yellow.

This beautiful picture is a magnificent interpretation of a Japanese garden. Again, you have your pale pinks this time softened even further by the white.

Still soft but with a darker tone, this flower has more of a bronze hue and a somber tone to it. Is it just me or does it look like there’s a huge spider in its center? *shivers*

I absolutely love this picture. It’s simpler than sliced bread but it’s so much more than that. The gray-scale is what makes this bud look gorgeous.

I think what I love most about this picture is the fact the the edges of the tulip are a bit blurred, almost obscured. And even though the colors aren’t that bright, they’re vibrant.

I think it’s fair of me to say that beauty in art needs to be appreciated too and after all, they are flowers. But what caught my eye was not the colors or the fact that it was painted but the fact that each leaf has a Japanese symbol cleverly painted in.

This one is my favorite, hence why it is last and the biggest. When I look at this picture, for some reason I sense an old world charm that’s almost esoteric. It’s absolutely magical.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 6, 2010 by in Nature, Photography.
