The Starving Bibliophile

Books before food (and any sort of comfortable life).

The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner: An Eclipse Novella

Summary: 16-year-old Bree Tanner, introduced briefly in Eclipse, explores her experiences as she learns how to be a vampire, under the direction of Riley. Riley’s Seattle coven is made up of turned teen street kids, still learning to control their blood lust; they hunt without remorse. When Bree meets Diego, a supernaturally beautiful vampire, they spend a day together and find an intense romantic connection. Diego shares his own discoveries about being a vampire. But then Riley’s plans for this army of newborn vampires to attack the “yellow-eyed” vampire coven (the Cullens) sends Bree and Diego in different directions.

A few things bothered me about this book. One, there are no chapters. It’s one big, run on book. This really bothered me because what if I wanted – had to – put the book down? My OCD does not allow me to stop just anywhere. Two, I felt that there was not a lot of new information brought with the book. I mean, except for a few things, there was nothing that couldn’t have been figured out by reading Eclipse more closely. I’m not going to get into any spoilers, but just know that it didn’t change the way I saw Eclipse. At all. Three, you don’t really learn that much about Bree. I mean, you find out how she became a vampire [which isn’t that interesting] and you find out that she fell in love with a vampire that she knew for a day. Stephenie Meyer loves making people fall in love, apparently. I was really looking forward to the vampire point of view – you know, the whole “BLOOD!!” thing – but I didn’t really get that. I think this book was more of a way for Meyer to drag out the Twilight Saga. Make a new one already. Other than those three things, I think the book was okay, definitely not the best though.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 28, 2010 by in Books.
