The Starving Bibliophile

Books before food (and any sort of comfortable life).

She Wanted Me

For my whole life, I’ve known that I was different. Not just the fact that I had one arm missing, but the fact that I was adopted. My parents would never tell me much about my birth parents, only just a little about my birth mother. I would fantasize about her taking me back. After all, that was all I ever wanted sometimes. My parents said that they didn’t know her last name – that her first name was all that they could remember. When I would ask them what her name was, they would tell me that her name was Rebecca. When I would ask them why she gave me up, they would say that it was because she couldn’t afford to keep me. When I would ask them if she loved me, they would say yes. But I never really believed them. If she loved me, why would she leave me? I never understood.

Today on Facebook, I got a friend request, so I naturally accepted it. It was a woman and she wanted to talk to me on FB chat. The very first thing she said was something about it being okay with my mom if I talked to her; she didn’t want me to get into trouble. This went completely over my head; I just thought she had a thing about adults talking to kids. We started talking and she didn’t really make any sense. She said things like, “oh my god you don’t know?” and “they never told you?” Needless to say, I was so befuddled. Then, after asking what the heck she was talking about, she said, “I’m your birth mother.”  I wanted to scream to her – tell her that there was no way. And then I told her to prove it. She did.

After speaking with her for 74 minutes and 29 seconds on the phone, there was no doubt in my mind as to who she was. She was Becca. My birth mother. She knew where I lived. She knew my parents’ names. She knew when and where I was born. She knew how much I weighed when I was born. She said that she typed in my name into the search engine to see if maybe, just maybe, I was there. And am I glad that I was. Becca said that she always wanted me. There was never a time that she didn’t want me. She did everything in her power to keep me. But she just couldn’t. And then I understood.

4 comments on “She Wanted Me

  1. Thomas Miller
    February 25, 2010

    ummm *awwwwh* face much. that could be like a fricking hallmark movie. i’m so glad for u, that is mongo-wayy-majorly-awesome!!

    Like

    • Jenna
      February 26, 2010

      lol if they made a hallmark movie out of it, that would be awesome. i just don’t know the ending to the story yet, though.

      Like

  2. Zombie Eat Dog
    February 25, 2010

    wow..im so happy for you *hug*

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 24, 2010 by in Family, Life, People.
