The Starving Bibliophile

Books before food (and any sort of comfortable life).

Every Day: YA Book Review

Summary: Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl. There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere. It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day.

Oh, my goodness, this book. I had only previously read David Levithan‘s book Will Grayson, Will Grayson that he co-wrote with John Green. It wasn’t John Green’s best book, so I blamed David Levithan. I shouldn’t have. (Not to say that John Green is at fault or isn’t perfect in any way.) This book is one of the most original that I’ve ever read. It was a rough start for me because of the lack of dialogue, but I quickly found myself enjoying it. It was one of those books where the lack of dialogue fit. (Unlike Megan Abbott’s Dare Me.) I also liked the fact that you were able to see A as so many different people. It really brought home the concept of loving someone for who they are, not what they look like. And there were little twists in this book that toned down the romance so you could focus more on A’s personal struggle. A lot of complaints I hear about this book, though, is that the love is too weird. I get that. But this is the first person that A has been able to tell everything to. And A loved her first. And A’s a teenager. So of course it’s weird. I also liked how A wasn’t defined by a gender. Some days A was a boy, some days A was a girl. And A was okay with that. I will be the first to say, though, that I do not like open endings. They always leave me feeling empty inside. And I was a little empty after this book. It was a great ending, and yet it wasn’t. But I’ll let you be the judge of that for yourself.

Every Day

2 comments on “Every Day: YA Book Review

  1. B. Dino
    January 13, 2013

    This book sounds wicked interesting… adding it my TBR shelf. Thanks for the review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 13, 2013 by in Books and tagged , , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 207 other followers

